T20 World Cup Afghanistan Squad 2022 Afghanistan Team Playing 11

T20 World Cup Afghanistan Squad 2022 Afghanistan Team Playing 11: T20 World Cup Afghanistan Squad 2022 Afghanistan Team Playing 11 will be discussed here. The seventh edition of the International Cricket Council (ICC) T20 World Cup 2022 will begin on October 17 and the match between the top two teams will take place on November 14. India was to host the tournament.

T20 World Cup Afghanistan Squad 2022

However, due to the Covid-19 scare in the United Arab Emirates and Oman, it was shifted to the United Arab Emirates (UAE). It is interesting to note that team Afghanistan is in Group B and has directly qualified for the Super 12s of the marquee event.

Group 2 will have two other qualifiers, India, New Zealand and Pakistan. The tournament will take place in Auckland, New Zealand during the summer of 2022. As part of Round 1, Team Afghanistan will face the winner of Group B at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium on 25 October. They will then face Pakistan in Dubai in October.

T20 World Cup 2022 Afghanistan Team

After the Taliban took over Afghanistan, there was no confirmation of Afghanistan’s participation in the ICC T20 World Cup 2022. However, reports have emerged that the team is expected to compete. Afghanistan is currently ranked seventh in the ICC rankings for T20 Internationals.

Entering the tournament the team will mainly focus on names like Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman and Mohammad Nabi. This will be a big task for the players mentioned above. This will be incredibly challenging for Rashid Khan, who is currently the best spinner in the world.

The Afghan national team has never won the ICC T20 World Cup trophy nor made it to the finals. In 2022, however, they will hope for a better performance under the leadership of Gulbadin Naib.

T20 World Cup 2022 Afghanistan squad prediction

Gulbadin Naib (captain), Mohammad Shahzad (wicketkeeper), Noor Ali Zadran, Hazratullah Zazai, Rahmat Shah, Asghar Afghan, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Najibullah Zadran, Samiullah Shinwari, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Dawat Zadran, Aftab Alam, Hamid Hasan, Mujeeb Ur Rehman.

Afghanistan’s T20 World Cup 2022 schedule for 2022 is as follows

October 25, 2022: vs Qualifier (B1), Sharjah (07:30 PM IST)

October 29, 2022: vs Pakistan, Dubai (7:30 pm IST)

October 31, 2022: vs Qualifier (A2), Abu Dhabi (3:30 pm IST)

November 3, 2022: Vs. India, Abu Dhabi (07:30 PM IST)

November 7: vs New Zealand, Abu Dhabi (03:30 PM IST)

After the ACB announces the T20 World Cup squad, Rashid Khan steps down

Despite this, Rashid Khan later announced that he was stepping down as team captain. Rashid was chosen as the captain of the team along with experienced wicketkeeper Mohammad Shehzad. Fareed Ahmed Malik and Afsar Zazai have been named as the two standbys.

According to Rashid, the selection committee and ACBC (Afghanistan Cricket Board) failed to obtain my consent before announcing the 18-member squad and naming two reserve players in a tweet.

Rashid said that he reserves the right to decide the team selection as captain and leader of the nation. I have decided to resign from the post of captain of Afghanistan’s Twenty20 team with immediate effect.

Afghanistan’s leading bowler Rashid was selected to captain the nation in July’s World Twenty20 tournament. His deputy Najibullah Zadran was also included in the 18-member squad.

Afghan cricket captain Rashid Khan

On 9 September, he announced that he had stepped down as captain, saying that the selection committee and ACB (Afghanistan Cricket Board) have not given my consent for the Afghanistan team.

In selecting the final Afghanistan squad for the 2022 T20 World Cup, the selectors carefully combined experienced players with fresh blood. Mohammad Nabi, however, will now lead the team as Rashid Khan has resigned in protest.

The event will take place from October 17 to November 14 in the United Arab Emirates and Oman.

During his three months as captain in 2019, Khan stepped down and said that he should have been selecting the team.

“I have not given consent for the ACB media to announce the team selected by the selection committee.

“I have decided to step down from my role as captain of the Afghanistan T20 team.

As a player for Afghanistan, I have always felt proud.

This decision has dealt a major blow to Azizullah Fazli, the interim president appointed after the Taliban came to power last month.

The selections with which Rashid was unhappy were not mentioned.

He said that apart from experienced wicketkeeper-batsman Mohammad Shehzad, there were experienced fast bowlers Daulat Zadran and Hamid Hasan. Shahzad has not played international cricket since the 2019 ODI World Cup.

Teams for the tournament are limited to 15 players, so further cuts may be required.

Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB)

The ICC T20 World Cup 2022 will be held in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) in 2022 and the ACB announced the squad on Thursday.

Afghan captain Rashid Khan, 22, is leading his side in the showpiece event starting next month, and Mohammad Shehzad has been reinstated into the squad after being ruled out midway through the 2019 World Cup due to injury.

ACB names 18-member squad for ICC World T20 2022

Twitter was used to announce the team. Asghar Afghan as all-rounder and senior player Mohammad Nabi will be important to take the team forward.

Gulbadin Naib, who led the team at the World Cup in India, joins Rashid Khan for the UAE along with Mujeeb Ur Rahman and leg spinner Qais Ahmed will once again serve as their main all-rounders.

The team has 18 regular members and two reserve players, wicketkeeper Afsar Zazai and uncapped Farid Ahmed Malik.


The Afghanistan T20 World Cup will be the last time Rashid Khan will serve as captain. Rashid Khan, the top choice for Afghanistan’s T20 squad for next month’s T20 World Cup, resigned on Thursday, saying the selectors failed to consult him. We wish the team well.

Leave a Comment